Congress Programme

09.30 – 09.40 Welcome and Introduction
Dr Colin Ruscoe (British Crop Production Council, BCPC)
Plenary Session: Impact of the UK Agriculture and Environment bills
09.40 – 09.50 Chair: Tony Pexton (British Crop Production Council, BCPC)
09.50 – 10.20 Crop solutions: a vision for the future
Dave Bench (Crop Protection Association, CPA)
10.20 – 10.50 The Agriculture Bill and the UK’s future agricultural policy – what does the future hold for arable farmers?
Nick von Westonholtz (National Farmers Union, NFU)
Morning break 10.50 – 11.20
Plenary Session: Production, environmental and consumer drivers on Regulation: Case studies
11.20 – 11.50 Driving up yields in Canada, is pesticide registration limiting opportunities?
Peter Johnson (Real Agriculture, Canada)
11.50 – 12.20 Using big data to explore UK and global trends in biodiversity
Dr Charlie Outhwaite (University College London, UCL)
12.20 – 12.50 Changing consumer attitudes to food production
Martin Grantley-Smith (Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board, AHDB)
12.50 – 13.00 Q&A Session
Lunch 13.00 – 14.00
  Stream A
The future of UK and EU PPP regulatory system
Chair: Iain Watt (TSG Consulting)
Stream B
Adopting and measuring IPM
Chair: Jim Orson (British Crop Production Council, BCPC)
14.00 – 14.30 The latest from the UK
Darren Flynn (HSE Chemicals Regulation Division)
Designing future crops
Dr Richard Harrison (NIAB)
14.30 – 15.00 The day after – the central zone after UK left EU (MS perspective)
Christian Prohaska (Austrian Agency for Health and Food Safety, AGES, Austria)
Building a resilient farming system
Poul Hovesen (Salle and Holkham Estates, Norfolk)
15.00 – 15.30 Title to be confirmed
Speaker to be announced 
Thresholds, risks and realities – lessons from the past to inform the future of IPM?
Dr Bill Parker (Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board, AHDB)
Afternoon break 15.30 – 16.00
16.00 – 16.30 Title to be confirmed
Defra speaker to be announced
Measuring adoption levels of IPM practices on arable farms
Dr Henry Creissen (Scotland’s Rural College, SRUC)
16.30 – 17.00 Transparency of regulatory data
Dr Martyn Griffiths (Bayer SAS)
IPM implementation in Denmark – tools, status and possible future initiatives Prof. Per Kudsk (University of Aarhus, Denmark)
17.00 – 17.30 Title to be confirmed
Hans Mattaar (European Crop Care Association, ECCA)
Panel discussion and Q&A
17.30 – 17.50 Q&A Session
17.50 Close of day 1
18.00 Drinks reception
Plenary Session: Practical and regulatory issues in precision pesticide application 
08.30 – 08.40 Chair: Chris Hartfield (National Farmers Union, NFU)
08.40 – 09.10 Precision agriculture: technologies that are set to transform agriculture as we know it
Dr Alun James (Sagentia)
09.10 – 09.40 Precision crop protection, the next practical steps
Dr Nick Tillett (Tillett and Hague Technology Ltd)
09.40 – 10.10 PPP regulation post Transition Period – the next chapter
Christine Snaith (HSE Chemicals Regulation Division)
Morning break 10.10 – 10.40
10.40 – 13.00 CRD Workshop
HSE Chemicals Regulation Division
13.00 – 13.10 Q&A Session
13.10 – 13.20 Close of Congress
Dr Colin Ruscoe (British Crop Production Council, BCPC)
Lunch 13.20 – 14.20
Register Interest

17-18 November 2020
Harrogate, UK

or contact us
by phone: +44 (0) 1423 863 522
by email: [email protected]